Chapter 25

Chapter 25: The Changing World of Music since 1945

Listening Selections

The following works are covered in this textbook chapter. Note the selections available for streaming, below. You will need to login or activate your registration code in order to access the available works.

Additional selections are also available.

Please download latest version of Adobe Flash Player.
nawm selection nawm title
184 Olivier Messiaen: Quartet for the End of Time, first movement
185 Benjamin Britten: Peter Grimes, end of Act III (Available on CDs only)
186 Samuel Barber: The Monk and His Cat, from Hermit Songs (Available on CDs only)
190 Karlheinz Stockhausen: Kreuzspiel, first section
191 Pierre Boulez: Le Marteau sans ma�tre, movement 6, Bourreaux de solitude
192 Luciano Berio: Sequenza III for female voice
193 George Crumb: Black Angels, Thirteen Images from the Dark Land, Image 4, Devil-Music and Image 5, Danse macabre
194 Milton Babbitt: Philomel, section I (Available on CDs only)
195 Krzystof Penderecki: Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima
187 John Cage: Sonatas and Interludes, Sonata V
188 John Cage: Music of Changes I, for piano (Available on CDs only)
189 Morton Feldman: Projection I, for cello (Available on CDs only)
197 Steve Reich: Tehillim, Part IV
198 John Adams: Short Ride in a Fast Machine
205 Bright Sheng: Seasons, from Seven Tunes Heard in China (Available on CDs only)
199 György Ligeti: Etudes, Book II, No. 9, Vertige
200 Ellen Taaffe Zwilich: Symphony No. 1, first movement (Available on CDs only)
201 Arvo Pärt: Magnificat antiphons: No. 1, O Weisheit and No. 6, O Konig aller Volker
203 Alfred Schnittke: Concerto Grosso No. 1, second movement, Toccata
202 Sofia Gubaidulina: Rejoice! Sonata for Violin and Violoncello, fifth movement (Available on CDs only)
204 Michael Daugherty: Dead Elvis (Available on CDs only)
Print This Page
Bookmark and Share

The Norton Gradebook

Instructors and students now have an easy way to track online quiz scores with the Norton Gradebook.

Go to the Norton Gradebook

Special offer for Met Opera On Demand